Presidents of the Republic of Texas

Note: If a cabinet position was held by more than one person during
any administration, only the first to hold that position is identified.

David Burnet (Ad Interim Government)
(March 1836-October 1836)
Vice-President: Lorenzo de Zavala
Secretary of State: Samuel Price Carson
Secretary of War: Thomas J. Rusk
Secretary of Treasury: Bailey Hardeman
Attorney General: David Thomas

Sam Houston (1st Administration)
(October 1836-December 1838)
Vice-President: Mirabeau B. Lamar
Secretary of State: Stephen F. Austin
Secretary of War: Thomas J. Rusk
Secretary of Treasury: Henry Smith
Attorney General: James Collinsworth

Mirabeau Lamar
(December 1838-December 1841)
Vice-President: David G. Burnet
Secretary of State: Barnard E. Bee
Secretary of War: Albert Sidney Johnston
Secretary of Treasury: Richard G. Dunlap
Attorney General: John C. Watrous

Sam Houston (2nd Administration)
(December 1841-December 1844)
Vice-President: Ed Burleson
Secretary of State: Anson Jones
Secretary of War: George W. Hockley
Sec. of Treasury: E. Lawrence Stickney
Attorney General: George W. Terrell

Anson Jones
(December 1844-February 1846)
Vice-President: Kenneth L. Anderson
Secretary of State: Ashbel Smith
Secretary of War: George W. Hill
Sec. of Treasury: William B. Ochiltree
Attorney General: Ebenezer Allen

About Lyman

Lyman Hardeman has held a deep interest in Texas history. He spent his youth in College Station, Texas and received a degree in Electrical Engineering at Texas A&M in 1966. In 1995, Lyman created Lone Star Junction, a popular Texas history website that later merged with Lyman is a life member of the Texas State Historical Association and the author of Texas A&M The First 25 Years.